Dave Wright and The Band Of Opportunity continue their musical journey with Aurora Borealis. From the searing lead guitar in ‘Big Lee’ to the gentle waves of ‘Yorana’ to the hard-edged funk of ‘Doctor Love’, this album takes you on a trip.

True to the concept of the band’s first album, Aurora Borealis features songs written in iconic places — ‘Yorana’ in French Polynesia, ‘Culebra’ in Panama, to name two — but the emphasis is on motion and activity.

And it moves! The band hits high energy fusion out of the gate with the first number ‘Quicksand’, samples some funky blues with the second tune ‘Blue is Our Business’, then digs in to the fusion rock anthem ‘Big Lee’. But is that all they’ve got?

No … the simple and soft melody of ‘Gratitude’, the steamy and swampy ‘Culebra’, the straight-ahead gritty rock of ‘Y-Not’ … Aurora Borealis is a journey that everyone should take.


Dave Wright and The Band Of Opportunity released their second album Aurora Borealis in May of 2023. The new collection of original compositions takes off where the band’s first album There And Gone left us, going ever-higher in energy and expression. Fans from the band’s live shows will recognize the music, starting with the opening track — ‘Quicksand’ is a crowd favorite which the band often uses as a closing number at their shows.

The band members — including Philippe Lewalle on keyboards, Scott Bradley on organ, Doug Fien on bass, Ryan Muchard on drums and Dave Wright on guitar — have plenty of opportunities to shred on this energetic full-length release. 

Asked about the title track ‘Aurora Borealis’, Dave says: “If I had to tell a story about this song, it would start somewhere in the far north … maybe up high in the Icelandic Highlands, surrounded by barren mountains and the brilliant northern lights. After admiring the aurora for a while, you feel yourself being pulled up from the ground into the aurora, then beyond, ricocheting through the asteroid belt, the rings of Saturn, the Oort Cloud and then into the raw violence of deep space where there are a million ways to die and only a few ways to live. Various adventures ensue before a space warp drops you back down to the earth at the same spot, where you’re watching the aurora, alone with the cold wind, bright stars and bare mountains.” 

Enjoy this musical journey with Dave Wright and The Band Of Opportunity.

1. Quicksand (Wright), 8:03
2. Blue Is Our Business (Wright), 5:59
3. Big Lee (Wright), 7:40
4. Gratitude (Wright), 8:08
5. Culebra (Wright), 7:04
6. Yo’rana (Wright), 6:23
7. Y-Not (Wright), 5:47
8. Doctor Love (Wright), 6:56
9. Aurora Borealis (Wright), 9:30

Dave Wright: guitar, bass (tracks 2, 7)
Ryan Muchard: drums (tracks 1–6, 8–9), synth percussion (track 3)
Doug Fien: bass (tracks 1, 3–6, 8–9)
Philippe Lewalle: keyboards (tracks 1–4, 6, 9)
Scott Bradley: organ (track 5)
Dave Cohen: drums (track 7)

Recorded at Studio X, Pittsford, New York. Photography of northern lights in the Icelandic Highlands by Dave Wright. Produced by Dave Wright for HMC Jazz, Fort Nurney, SD, 2023.

Click the song names below to see more photos of where in the world each song was written:




1. Quicksand (Wright)

2. Blue Is Our Business (Wright)

3. Big Lee (Wright)

4. Gratitude (Wright)

5. Culebra (Wright)

6. Yo’rana (Wright)

7. Y-Not (Wright)

8. Doctor Love (Wright)

9. Aurora Borealis (Wright)


Click the ‘Play’ button below to listen to “Aurora Borealis” in its entirety. Check out the great performances captured in the studio, and then come check out a live gig. Which is better?

Purchase the album for only $9.99 and receive bonus content!

Your direct support of the arts brings extra benefits! When you purchase and download Aurora Borealis through the secure link below, you will receive exclusive access to additional content — including unreleased music tracks. Thank you for your support, and enjoy the music!

Sign up for gig announcements and new website releases.

Comment on this album

  1. Daniel November 15, 2023 at 3:31 am - Reply

    Dave’s creativity is allot of fun. Lots of expression through out.

  2. Angela Panzer November 10, 2023 at 12:18 am - Reply

    Amazing Music and musicians!!

  3. Frauke November 6, 2023 at 6:46 pm - Reply

    Great music. Lots of talent here.

  4. Sue November 6, 2023 at 1:42 pm - Reply

    The music combined with your photos is a real treat for the senses.

  5. Mary Lyubomirsky November 5, 2023 at 6:53 pm - Reply

    We were fortunate enough to hear David and the band play some of this live! Such beautiful reflections on his travels. Armchair travel jazz! Loved it!

  6. Tom McKeehan November 4, 2023 at 2:42 pm - Reply

    Great music and always fun to see the band live

  7. Peter Klein November 1, 2023 at 9:34 pm - Reply

    I love this thoughtful and atmospheric music that invokes landscapes, both real and imagined. Quite rare and original. Two thumbs up and the full five ratings stars.

  8. Derek October 26, 2023 at 6:54 pm - Reply

    Great album. I’ll be sure to catch a live show one of these days!